" /> My Title page contents
Home -> News -> National News -> AIADMK’s Thambidurai set to be new LS Deputy Speaker

AIADMK’s Thambidurai set to be new LS Deputy Speaker

AIADMK s Thambidurai set to be new LS Deputy Speaker New Delhi: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MP M Thambidurai is all set to be the new Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha on Wednesday.

A formal election for the said post is scheduled for today, reports stated.

This will be Thambidurai’s second stint as Deputy Speaker of the Lower House as he was elected to the post for the first time way back in 1985.

A five-term member, Thambidurai represents Karur constituency in Tamil Nadu and his party is the second largest party in the opposition after the Congress.

Thambidurai is set to get elected as the Deputy Speaker at a time when there is no word yet on the Leader of the Opposition (LoP) status for Congress which is strongly pitching for the post despite getting 44 seats, 11 short for the requisite numbers.

A total of twelve sets of nominations were filed on his behalf with parties in the BJP-led NDA supporting him so also Congress and other opposition parties.

The 11 parties that supported Thambidurai’s candidature were BJP, Shiv Sena, TDP, Lok Jan Shakti Party, (All part of NDA) as also opposition parties Congress, AIADMK, Samajvadi Party, Trinamul Congress, BJD, TRS and YSR CP.

On behalf of BJP, two sets of nominations were filed with Rajnath Singh and MM Joshi as proposers and Sushma Swaraj and LK Advani as seconders.

Other leaders who proposed the candidature of Thambidurai include- Mallikarjuna Kharge of Congress, Mulayam Singh Yadav of SP, Ram Vilas Paswan of LJP, Anant Geete (Shiv Sena), K Sriniavasa Rao of TDP, A P Jitender Reddy of TRS, B Renuka of YSR CP, Sudip Bandopadhyay of TMC and Bhartruhari Mahatab of BJD.

AIADMK with 37 MPs is the third largest party in Lok Sabha after BJP and Congress, which have 279 and 44 members respectively.

As per a notification issued by the Lok Sabha yesterday, notices of motions for the election of Deputy Speaker were allowed to be given before Tuesday noon. The 67-year-old AIADMK leader was the only candidate to file nominations for the post within the stipulated time with 11 parties in the ruling side and the Opposition including BJP and Congress supporting him.

Reports had it that AIADMK leader M Thambidurai is the likely choice of NDA for the post. The move to give the post to AIADMK is seen as a gesture towards Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha and also a bid to split the opposition ranks.

The election of Thambidurai as the Deputy Speaker was being talked about for the past over a month after a meeting held between the Jayalalitha and PM Modi.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister M Venkaiah Naidu had spoken to leaders of various parties including Congress and SP and sought their support for unanimous election of Thambidurai for the post.

Earlier, Thambidurai was the Deputy Speaker from 1985 to 1989.