" /> My Title page contents
Home -> News -> National News -> BJP wins 3 of 5 seats in LS, Assembly bypolls

BJP wins 3 of 5 seats in LS, Assembly bypolls

BJP wins 3 of 5 seats in LS Assembly bypolls The BJP won three of the five Lok Sabha and Assembly seats in the bypolls for which results were announced on Sunday.

The second daughter of late BJP leader Gopinath Munde won the Beed parliamentary seat by a record seven lakh votes in Maharashtra.

Pritam (32), who polled 9,22,416 votes, trounced former Congress minister Ashok Patil by 6,96,321 votes from Beed parliamentary constituency, poll officials said. Patil secured 2,26,095 votes. The Beed bypoll was necessitated following the death of Gopinath Munde in a road accident in Delhi in June this year.

Pankaja, Munde’s eldest daughter and sitting BJP MLA, defeated her estranged cousin Dhananjay Munde, a NCP nominee from Parli Assembly seat in Beed by 25,895 votes, enabling the two Munde sisters to retain the legacy of their father.

The late BJP leader had three daughters. BJD candidate Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh, widow of former MP Hemendra Chandra Singh, won the byelection for Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat in Odisha trouncing BJP’s Rudramadhab Ray by a whopping 2,98,868 votes, official sources said in Bhubaneswar.

In her maiden poll battle, Pratyusha Rajeswari secured 4,77,529 votes while Ray, a former MP from Kandhamal, polled 1,78,661 votes in a seven-cornered contest in the communally sensitive and Maoist-hit constituency, Kandhamal district election officer, Sumant Kar said.

Congress nominee Abhimanyu Behera, a former Phulbani MLA, was pushed to the third position securing 90,536 votes in the bypoll for the constituency, spread over four districts of Kandhamal, Ganjam, Nayagarh and Boudh.

BJP retained the Rajkot-West Assembly seat in Gujarat with a margin of over 23,000 votes. “BJP candidate Vijay Rupani won Rajkot-West Assembly seat by a margin of 23,740 votes at the end of the final 19th round,” Deputy Election Officer Ketan Gandhi said. Rupani got 81,092 votes while Congress candidate Jayanti Kalaria managed 57,352 votes.

Interestingly, voters in the constituency chose NOTA (None of the Above) as the third alternative, as 3,110 votes were polled in its favour. Samajwadi Party’s Nahid Hasan won the Kairana Assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh by defeating his nearest rival BJP’s Anil Chouhan.